Small Forward Rankings: Jeff’s Top 30

My colleague Eric McClung over at RotoExperts.com has his Small Forward rankings up and running. McClung takes the controversial stance that LeBron James is the top SF, ahead of Kevin Durant. I disagree, respectfully. LeBron is going to go nuts this year, but the hit to his scoring average will be enough to move him below Durant and even Chris Paul overall. Durant, on the other hand, hasn’t even hit his peak yet, and he averaged 30 points per game last year. What will he do this year? 31? 32? I shudder to think. He’s my No. 1 SF and No. 1 overall player. My Top 30 (remember, this is in an 8-cat, no-turnover, H2H league, based on Yahoo!’s positions):

  1. Kevin Durant
  2. LeBron James
  3. Danny Granger
  4. Gerald Wallace
  5. Andre Iguodala
  6. Carmelo Anthony
  7. Brandon Roy
  8. Joe Johnson
  9. Stephen Jackson
  10. Rudy Gay
  11. Paul Pierce
  12. Jason Richardson
  13. Danilo Gallinari
  14. Antawn Jamison
  15. Trevor Ariza
  16. Jeff Green
  17. Lamar Odom
  18. Hedo Turkoglu
  19. Rashard Lewis
  20. Caron Butler
  21. John Salmons
  22. Michael Beasley
  23. Andrei Kirilenko
  24. Luol Deng
  25. Nicolas Batum
  26. Carl Landry
  27. J.R. Smith
  28. Vince Carter
  29. Linas Kleiza
  30. Mike Dunleavy

I’ve bumped Odom up in recent days as I think he could really shine with Andrew Bynum on a minutes limit. Landry is looking great the first month at least with Sam Dalembert out (and don’t forget about Jason Thompson either; DeMarcus Cousins is a must-own). By this time next week I might be ready to move Gallinari ahead of Pierce and Richardson. I’m going to target Dunleavy and Kleiza at the end of drafts. They are probably going to start and provide sneaky value early. I see Mike Miller pretty high on everyone’s cheat sheets. If we are all going to bump LeBron, Wade and Bosh’s scoring numbers down, how on Earth is Miller going to get his? I see 11 points a game at a maximum. He’s not on my Top 30 list at SG or SF.

What do you guys think? I’ll have my Top 30 Shooting Guard list soon.

Leave a Reply

