2010-11 Fantasy Hoops Mock Draft: Fifth Round

We continue our Mock Draft, with Round Five.

Rules: 8-category rotisserie league, 12 teams, 10 rounds, picking best available player (not building teams).
The participants: Steve Alexander (Rotoworld), Jeff Andriesse, Tom Lorenzo and Greg Fox (Damn Lies).

DAMN LIES & STATISTICS MOCK DRAFT

ROUND 1 with commentary
ROUND 2 with commentary
ROUND 3 with commentary
ROUND 4 with commentary

ROUND 5
49. Steve – Anthony Randolph
50. Jeff – Nene
51. Greg – Gilbert Arenas
52. Tom – Chris Kaman
53. Steve – Baron Davis
54. Jeff – Aaron Brooks
55. Greg – Jeff Green
56. Tom – Danilo Gallinari
57. Steve – Ray Felton
58. Jeff – Mo Williams
59. Greg – LaMarcus Aldridge
60. Tom – Marcus Camby

FIFTH ROUND ANALYSIS
Steve Alexander:
As you all can imagine, I was thrilled to get my man Anthony Randolph in the fifth round. He should have a monster year in New York. In hindsight, I wish I’d made this my “sleeper-fest” and grabbed Randolph, Danilo Gallinari and then either Felton or Andray Blatche, but for some reason I freaked out and took Baron Davis at 53. Not sure I’d do that in real life though, and I made that pick from the car with a shaky blackberry and no player list. As for Felton, he should be a GREAT fifth-round pick. If Chris Duhon actually had fantasy value for Mike D’Antoni a couple years ago, Felton could be a stud for the whole season. I love Gallinari this year, and while there are just as many questions as answers in this round. Jeff Green, Mo Williams and LaMarcus Aldridge were the safest picks, Randolph and Arenas were the risk vs. reward picks, while the owners of Nene, Kaman, Baron and Camby just hope they stay healthy. Aaron Brooks should be a nice fifth-round pick, but it will be tough for him to match last year’s dream season again.

Jeff Andriesse: Tons of wild cards in this round, led by the intriguing Anthony Randolph, the infuriating Marcus Camby and the insane Gilbert Arenas. I didn’t draft any of them, but mostly because I settled in with no-brainers Nene, Aaron Brooks and Mo Williams. I don’t mean they aren’t smart guys. I mean they are easy picks to make at this point in the draft. Nene can keep shooting close to 60 percent on my team any day, Brooks hit a whopping 2.5 threes last year and Mo Williams is keeping his talents in Cleveland. I remember how good he was on Milwaukee when he had free reign, and he should be able to play nice in the sandbox with another former Buck stat-stuffer in Ramon Sessions. LaMarcus Aldridge’s 0.6 blocks per game last year made me angry at the man, but I don’t think he really cares. It is hard to argue with the logic that Ray Felton will be a fantasy beast in 2010-11. The only thing that could get in his way is if Chris Paul makes good on his toast and heads to NYC with Carmelo.

Greg Fox: I’m not crazy about my selections of Arenas, Green and Aldridge this round, but I wasn’t completely comfortable with anyone on the board. As long as Gil is semi-healthy and hasn’t gone to Vienna for some strict Freudian analysis, he’ll play big minutes and jack up shots at an alarming rate. With Wall expected to run the point, Arenas’ assists will be down, but his threes and field goal percentage could rise a bit. Green is beginning to resemble a poor man’s Rudy Gay and Aldridge has the potential to be David West light. The good doctor grabbed his man-crush Anthony Randolph a bit higher than I would have liked to have seen him go. He could end up competing for minutes with Tom’s man-crush, Danilo Gallinari, in some sort of a sick Knicks/Damn Lies love quadrangle. Maybe I’ll attempt to start a bromance with Wilson Chandler. Jeff actually nabbed Nene, Aaron Brooks and Mo Williams right before I was about to pounce. Williams could be in store for a huge year, but we don’t really know the effect Ramon Sessions will have on him.

Tom Lorenzo: This is where you start to take chances on players. As is evident with guys like Randolph, Arenas, Gallo, Felton, Camby and even Baron Davis, to a certain extent. I like Randolph on the Knicks because he seems to be in their plans for the future. Similar to what Gallinari was to the Knicks last season. Get him on the court, see if the kid can play, see what kind of future he may have with the team, and possibly see if he can be moved for a cornerstone piece (Chris Paul?). Nene continues to be one of the most undervalued players in fantasy hoops. For the past few years he’s been giving back great returns on his investment. Jeff got a steal here in the fifth round. I took Kaman here because it seems like size is going to once again be at a premium this year. I would hate to have to wait until guys like Erick Dampier and Tyson Chandler are all that are left on the board. Of course I had to take Gallo here, knowing that he was about to come off the board. If you read my work you know how I feel about him. He has superstar potential. Let’s put it this way; would you like to see the league leader in 3-pointers made also average more than a steal and block per game? You just might see that this season. I then ended with Camby. As usual, if he stays healthy he can compete with the likes of Dwight Howard in both the rebounds and blocks categories. But, again, that’s a big “if”.

SIXTH ROUND HERE

Leave a Reply

